Mira and Baku (Hardcover)

Mira and Baku By Sara Truuvert, Michelle Theodore (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sara Truuvert, Michelle Theodore (Illustrator)
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A Quill & Quire Book of the Year

With the help of a magical friend, a young girl searches for her missing father in this poignant story set during Japanese Canadian incarceration in World War II.

It's a week until Mira's birthday, and she's getting worried. Where is Papa? He has never missed her birthday before. When Mira's friend Baku, a creature from Japanese folklore, offers to help, they journey over farmlands and forests, mountains and river mouths, gathering clues to Papa's whereabouts--clues that echo Mira's memories and overheard conversations in the camp where she lives with Mama.

Lushly illustrated by up-and-coming illustrator Michelle Theodore, this tender, moving picture book by debut author Sara Truuvert explores the profound impacts of family separation and the different forms comfort can take for a child processing loss.

Further reading on Japanese Canadian and Japanese American internment and a note from the author add to readers' understanding of this underrepresented period of history, making it an instant classic. For fans of Baseball Saved Us, Mira and Baku is an emotional exploration of the power of imagination and hope in difficult times.

"I highly recommend this poignant, splendid telling, in both words and art, of Mira's important story." --Matt Faulkner, author/illustrator of Gaijin: American Prisoner of War (recipient of the Asian/Pacific American Library Association Best Children's Book Award) and My Nest of Silence

About the Author


SARA TRUUVERT is a Canadian author of Japanese-Estonian descent. She grew up in Toronto and now lives in Ottawa, where she writes everything from short fiction to poetry to science articles. Mira and Baku is her first picture book.MICHELLE THEODORE is an illustrator born and raised under the prairie skies in Edmonton, Alberta. As a landlocked yonsei, she is often reminiscing about coastal summers with family, inspired by her times on beaches collecting sand dollars and eating homemade salmon jerky.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781773217567
ISBN-10: 1773217569
Publisher: Annick Press
Publication Date: October 17th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English