Uprooted: A Memoir About What Happens When Your Family Moves Back (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Uprooted: A Memoir About What Happens When Your Family Moves Back By Ruth Chan, Ruth Chan (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ruth Chan, Ruth Chan (Illustrator)
$22.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Perfect for fans of New Kid and A First Time for Everything, a joyful and tearful debut middle grade graphic memoir about one girl being uprooted when she moves to Hong Kong, a place where her family fits in but, for her, it's nothing like home.

Ruth Chan loves her hometown in Toronto, hanging out with her best friends for life, and snacking on ketchup flavored potato chips, which are the best. What Ruth doesn’t love is having to move to Hong Kong after her dad gets a new job there.

Her mom is excited to reunite with her family, but it’s not the same for Ruth. In Hong Kong, her classes are harder, her Cantonese isn’t good enough, and her parents are never around. Ruth feels lonely and completely uprooted.

But as Ruth’s dad tells stories about her family, about how they relied on their strength, courage, and each other to survive the most difficult times, Ruth realizes that she too can be strong. Gradually, she puts down roots, knowing that home will always be where her heart is.

About the Author


Ruth Chan is an illustrator and author who spent her childhood tobogganing in Canada, her teens in Hong Kong and China, a number of years studying art and education, and a decade working with youth and families in underserved communities. She now writes and illustrates children’s books and comics in Brooklyn NY and remains a proud Canadian.

Ruth Chan is an illustrator and author who spent her childhood tobogganing in Canada, her teens in Hong Kong and China, a number of years studying art and education, and a decade working with youth and families in underserved communities. She now writes and illustrates children’s books and comics in Brooklyn NY and remains a proud Canadian.

Praise For…


"Uprooted is more than just a coming-of-age story. The beauty of Ruth Chan's memoir comes from her finding truth in the quietest of moments and strength in the most difficult times." —LeUyen Pham, New York Times bestselling co-creator of the Friends graphic novel series

"When the world around you feels out of your control, this book is a grounding force. Ruth’s tender, profoundly funny, and well-earned insights will give readers the courage to approach the uncertainties of life with excitement. I loved every moment." —Chanel Miller, New York Times bestselling author of Know My Name

"Ruth Chan tells her story of international upheaval with charming cartooning, pitch-perfect humor, and tons of heart. I loved every salty-sweet moment." —Vera Brosgol, creator of Be Prepared and the New York Times bestseller Anya's Ghost

“Kids and adults with both adore and relate to this wonderful memoir about Ruth’s real life struggle to adapt and fit into a new home.” —Dan Santat, creator of National Book Award winner A First Time for Everything and Caldecott Medal winner The Adventures of Beekle

"
A tender and honest story about discovering yourself in a new world. Through vivid detail and earnest recollection, readers young and old will be transported into Ruth Chan’s world. A sweet and honest love letter to a family and the city of Hong Kong.” —Jen Wang, creator of Stargazing and The Prince and the Dresssmaker



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250855336
ISBN-10: 1250855330
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: September 10th, 2024
Pages: 288
Language: English