Beware the Night (The Offering Series #1) (Paperback)

Beware the Night (The Offering Series #1) By Jessika Fleck Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Offering Series series.


Jessika Fleck's Beware the Night is a YA dystopic novel about a young woman who must join a dangerous revolution to fight against injustice—and the boy she loves.

On the island of Bellona, they worship the sun. Seventeen-year-old Veda understands that keeping the sun content ensures plentiful crops, peace and harmony, and a thriving economy. But as a member of the Basso class, she never reaps those benefits.

Life as a Basso is one fraught with back-breaking work and imposing rules. Her close friendship with Nico is Veda’s one saving grace in a cruel world where the division between her people and the ruling Dogio is as wide and winding as the canals that snake through their island.

But when Veda’s grandfather is chosen as the next sacrificial offering to keep the sun’s favor, Veda is forced to see the injustice of her world. Turning away from the sun means she must join the night—and an underground revolution she’s been taught to fear all her life.

About the Author

Jessika Fleck is an author, an artist, and a knitter who sincerely hopes to one day discover a way to do all three at once. Until then, she continues collecting vintage typewriters and hourglasses and convincing her husband that they need one more kitten. Jessica has also written the young adult novel The Castaways.

Praise For…

"Fleck has crafted a fully realized world complete with its own history and mythology to immerse her readers. Finely tuned and masterfully written, this is a must-purchase for all fantasy shelves." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Newcomer Fleck has an atmospheric style, noting little details in every passage. Veda is a scrappy heroine, seemingly forever caught between extremes . . . the story is engrossing and the book itself is recommended." —Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250233332
ISBN-10: 125023333X
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: March 10th, 2020
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: The Offering Series