The Magic Labyrinth: The Fourth Book of the Riverworld Series (Paperback)

The Magic Labyrinth: The Fourth Book of the Riverworld Series By Philip Jose Farmer Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Reissued to follow the Syfy Channel film of Riverworld, this fourth book in the classic Riverworld series continues the adventures of Samuel Clemens and Sir Richard Francis Burton as they travel through Farmer's strange and wonderful Riverworld, a place where everyone who ever lived is simultaneously resurrected along a single river valley that stretches over an entire planet. Famous characters from history abound.

Now Burton and Clemens, who have traveled for more than thirty years on two great ships, are about to reach the end of the River. But there is a religion, The Church of the Second Chance, that has grown up along the River and its adherents, possibly inspired by aliens, are determined to destroy the riverboats. A coming battle may destroy Burton and Clemens, but even if they survive, how can they penetrate the alien tower of the Ethicals, who created this astonishing world? What can humans do against a race capable of creating a world and resurrecting the entire human race on it?

About the Author

Hugo award-winning author Philip José Farmer (1918-2009) was one of the great science fiction writers of the 20th Century, and the Riverworld books are generally considered his masterpiece. He lived in Peoria, Illinois.

Praise For…

“Farmer's blend of intellectual daring and pulp-fiction prose found a worldwide audience…. Sprawling, episodic works gave him room to explore the nuances of a provocative premise while indulging his taste for lurid, violent action.” —The New York Times

“The greatest science fiction writer ever.” —Leslie A. Fiedler, author of Love and Death in the American Novel

“An excellent science fiction writer, far more skillful than I am.” —Isaac Asimov

Product Details
ISBN: 9780765326553
ISBN-10: 0765326558
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: November 9th, 2010
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: Riverworld