The Best Way to Bury Your Husband: A Novel (Paperback)

The Best Way to Bury Your Husband: A Novel By Alexia Casale Cover Image
$18.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A dark comedy about four women coming together to heal the damage their husbands have done––and hide their bodies once they’ve killed them

When Sally kills her husband with a cast-iron skillet, she’s more fearful of losing her kids than of disposing of a fresh corpse. That just wouldn’t be fair—not after twenty years of marriage to a truly terrible man. But Sally isn’t the only woman in town reaching the brink. Soon, Sally finds herself leading an extremely unusual self-help group, and among them there are four bodies to hide. Can they all figure out the perfect way to bury their husbands . . . and get away with it?

First to join is former nurse, Ruth, who met her husband as a single mom. Now her son is grown and her husband’s violence builds by the day until an attack on the stairs leads to a fatal accident—for him. A few doors down, Samira’s last straw comes when she discovers her husband is planning a campaign of violence against her eldest daughter, who has just come out. Janey, Sally’s best friend, has just had her first child at forty-two. Sleep-deprived Janey needs a hero to slay the monster in the fairy tales she whispers to her daughter each night . . . and as her husband’s violence escalates, it might just be her.

Together, fueled by righteous anger but tempered by a moral core, the four women must help each other work out a plan to get rid of their husbands for good. Along the way, Sally, Ruth, Samira and Janey rediscover old joys and embark on new passions in work, education, and life. Friendship and laughter really are the best medicine—and so is getting away with murder.

About the Author


Alexia Casale is a British-American author, script consultant, and course director of the MA in Writing for Young People program at Bath Spa University. This is her adult debut. Alexia has over a decade of experience as an editor specializing in the field of male violence against women and girls, having been an executive editor of an international human rights journal. She holds two master’s degrees from the University of Cambridge and a PhD from Essex.

Praise For…


Praise for The Best Way to Bury Your Husband:

“A darkly comedic story with hijinks that will leave you torn between shock and horrified laughter. Casale has tackled a heartbreaking topic with the dexterity and nuance it deserves. I don't condone of murder, but I would like to join the Lockdown Ladies' Burial Club now, please!”
Jesse Q. Sutanto, bestselling author of Vera Wong's Unsolicited Advice for Murderers

“Warning: You won't sleep until you've finished this book. It's utterly unputdownable. Tense, funny, moving, and strangely cosy at the same time. Casale writes about domestic abuse with clarity and urgency, and yet with humour, farce, and warmth. You'll weep as these four survivors find solace and homecoming as they share their stories (and tips on dismemberment). Not to be missed. Read it now!”
Holly Bourne, bestselling author of How Do You Like Me Now?

“The Best Way To Bury Your Husband is poignant, funny, and warm, but also dark, searing and downright heart-breaking. Beautifully written with a perfect blend of humour, pathos, and important, hard-hitting messages.”
Andrea Mara, bestselling author of No One Saw a Thing

“A wife and her trusty frying pan fighting the patriarchy can elicit a silent cheer… Casale’s book goes beyond the statistics to tell four very human stories — morbid, funny and sadly relevant.”
—The Washington Post

“Casale’s adult debut is a sharp, entertaining, and fast-paced story that’s as much about revenge as it is about sisterhood and liberation....This intoxicating blend of revenge thriller and black comedy will appeal to fans of C. J. Skuse and Helene Tursten.”
Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593654606
ISBN-10: 0593654609
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: March 19th, 2024
Pages: 400
Language: English