Ready, Set, Run!: The Amazing New York City Marathon (Hardcover)

Ready, Set, Run!: The Amazing New York City Marathon By Leslie Kimmelman, Jessie Hartland (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Leslie Kimmelman, Jessie Hartland (Illustrator)
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A lively nonfiction picture book about runners preparing for, and racing in, the New York City Marathon, perfect for fans of Balloons Over Broadway and The Philharmonic Gets Dressed.

All over the world—on city roads and country lanes, on beaches, high in the mountains, across fields, in sun, rain, and late at night, people get ready to race. It’s a BIG DEAL to run in the New York City Marathon! 
    In this energetic and ever-so-fun nonfiction picture book about the world's most famous race, readers follow runners from all over the world as they stretch, make their playlist, eat a spaghetti dinner, and then pound, pound, pound through the five boroughs of New York City, all the way to the finish line.
    With fun facts throughout ("Since 1979, a high school band stationed at Mile 9 plays the “Rocky” theme song again and again until the last runners go by"), this is an exhilarating, inside-view of what it entails to run the world's largest marathon.

About the Author


Leslie Kimmelman is an accomplished author of 40 picturebooks under her own name, as well as many works for hire under pseudonyms. Her work has garnered a Sydney Taylor honor and three Sydney Taylor Notable citations. In addition, Leslie worked at Sesame Workshop for 25 years, where she created the autistic character, Julia. Her work on Sesame Street’s autism initiative received a Smithsonian Ingenuity Award. Visit her online at lesliekimmelman.net.

Jessie Hartland a New York City based artist, and writer and illustrator of books for children. Her books include Harlem Grown by Tony Hillery, which was featured on Humans of New York, Steve Jobs: Insanely Great and Bon Apetit!, about Julia Child. She has painted murals at a Japanese amusement park, designed Christmas windows for Bloomingdale's, and put her mark on ceramics, watches, and all sorts of other things. She has done drawings for many magazines and newspapers such as The New York Times, Travel and Leisure Family, Martha Stewart Kids and Bon Appetit. Visit her on the Web at jessiehartland.com.

Praise For…


★ "As all of New York gets caught up in the excitement....readers are likely to break into a cheer as well."  —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A fresh, buoyant high stepper.” —Kirkus Reviews

"This attractive picture book introduces marathons to children." —Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593433652
ISBN-10: 0593433653
Publisher: Random House Studio
Publication Date: August 1st, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English