The Secret Keeper of Main Street: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Secret Keeper of Main Street: A Novel By Trisha R. Thomas Cover Image
$28.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"A pure delight from start to finish!"--Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Diamond Eye

Acclaimed author Trisha R. Thomas delivers a masterful new tale of scandal and intuition. In 1950s oil-rich Oklahoma, Bailey Dowery, a dressmaker with the gift of “second sight,” reluctantly reveals the true loves and intentions of her socialite clients, making her a silent witness to a shocking crime.

1954: In the quaint town of Mendol, Oklahoma, Bailey Dowery is a Black dressmaker for the wives and daughters of local oil barons. She earns a good living fitting designer gowns and creating custom wedding dresses for the town’s elite. But beyond her needle and thread lies a deeper talent, one passed down from her mother: the gift of insight. With just a fleeting touch or brush against the skin, Bailey has sudden flashes of intuition— witnessing the other person’s hopes, dreams, and nightmares, as well glimpses of their past and future. To protect herself, she wears gloves to keep from grazing the skin of her clients as she pins them into their gowns.

Brides have whispered that Bailey can see if their true love is faithful, or if their marriage will be a success. Her aunt Charlene has always warned her, “It’s safer to stay out of White folks’ business.” But Bailey will reluctantly provide a reading during a fitting, as long as the bride promises to be discreet.

Now Elsa Grimes, daughter of one of the richest oil men in Oklahoma, has come to the Regal Gown as the least joyful bride Bailey has ever seen. Elsa’s big society wedding is imminent and her gown is gorgeous, but what Bailey’s intuition uncovers when she touches Elsa’s hand horrifies her. Against her better judgment, she’s determined to help Elsa in whatever way she can. But when the son of a prominent family turns up dead on the eve of Elsa’s wedding, and the bride-to-be is arrested for his murder, Bailey is suddenly at the center of a firestorm that threatens to overtake her and everyone she loves.

About the Author


Trisha R. Thomas is the author of the popular Nappily series. Her debut novel Nappily Ever After was a finalist for the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work, chosen for Oprah Magazine as a Book That Made A Difference, and became a Netflix major motion picture starring Sanaa Lathan.

She is a Literary Lion Award honoree by the King County Library Foundation. She has written 14 novels and featured in O Magazine, Glamour, Seattle Times, Essence Magazine, and The Mary Sue. Trisha fearlessly explores the complexities of human relationships, delving into topics such as love, family, identity, and societal issues. 

Praise For…


“In What Passes as Love, Trisha R. Thomas has…so brilliantly…written a powerful, thought-provoking, truly cinematic historical novel that will have you turning pages well into the wee hours of the morning. Her story is simply wonderful.”  — Kimberla Lawson Roby, New York Times bestselling author of Casting the First Stone

“Readers are transported to the South in 1850 in this emotional, richly drawn novel.” — Woman’s World on What Passes as Love

“Thomas removes the focus from the white oppressor or white savior characters usually so popular in these stories, and concentrates on the actions and consciences of the Black heroine and ensemble.”  — Glamour on What Passes as Love

“Thomas’s well-researched and compelling novel charts Dahlia’s complex journey of escape, reinvention, and self-acceptance. Fans of Alena Dillon and Lucinda Riley will be moved by this historical glimpse into a brutal time period. Not shying away from the cruelties of slavery, Thomas gives a voice to the enslaved by exploring the power of shared humanity and newfound courage.”  — Booklist on What Passes as Love

“Trisha Thomas’s first novel places her in a league with Terry McMillan and Bebe Moore Campbell.” — Publishers Weekly on Nappily Ever After



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063344167
ISBN-10: 0063344165
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: June 4th, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English